Kenneth Burke (1897 – 1993)

Our unavowed conflicts, and even my recurrent melancholy memories, seem separated from me, as I find myself busily at work upon my utterance. I would, on such occasions, deem it enough to place antinomies upon the page, to add up that which is subtracted by another, to reduce every statement by some counterclaim to zero. Did each assertion endow with life, and each denial cause destruction, at the close the message would be nonexistent; but, by the nature of words, after this mutual cancellation is complete, the document remains.

–Kenneth Burke, Towards a Better Life

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

