Space and Time Unbound

When I was teaching at Cooper Union in the first year or two of the fifites, someone told me how I could get onto the unfinished New Jersey Turnpike. I took three students and drove from somewhere in the Meadows to New Brunswick. It was a dark night and there were no lights or shoulder markers, lines, railings or anything at all except the dark pavement moving through the landscape of the flats, rimmed by hills in the distance, but punctuated by stacks towers, fumes, and colored lights. This drive was a revealing experience. The road and much of the landscape was artificial, and yet it couldn’t be called a work of art. On the other hand, it did something for me that art had never done. At first I didn’t know what it was, but its effect was to liberate me from many of the views I had had about art. It seemed that there had been a reality there that had not had any expression in art.

Tony Smith
Free Ride (1962)
Painted steel, 6′ 8″ x 6′ 8″ x 6′ 8″
Museum of Modern Art, NYC


The experience of the road was something mapped out but not socially recognized. I thought to myself, it ought to be clear that’s the end of art. Most painting looks pretty pictorial after that. There is no way you can frame it, you just have to experience it.

–Tony Smith (quoted from Michael Fried’s “Art and Objecthood,” 1967)

Carl Andre
Lever, (1966)
137 fire bricks

Carl Andre
Cubolt (1981)
Copper, 0.5 x 225 x 675 cm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

