An Evening Redness in The West


The way of the world is to bloom and to flower and die but in the affairs of men there is no waning and the noon of his expression signals the onset of night. His spirit is exhausted at the peak of its achievement. His meridian is at once his darkening and the evening of his day.

–Cormac McCarthy


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Evening Redness in The West

  1. Lynne Butler says:

    I drank at every vine.
    The last was like the first.
    I came upon no wine
    So wonderful as thirst.

    I gnawed at every root.
    I ate of every plant.
    I came upon no fruit
    So wonderful as want.

    Feed the grape and bean
    To the vintner and monger;
    I will lie down lean
    With my thirst and hunger.
    (E.M.)

Leave a Reply

